Home Page

Early Years

Our children's learning journey starts in our Early Years settings. In our Nursery and Reception classes our curriculum is designed to foster curiosity about the world and engender a love of learning. We want the children to engage confidently in the world around them. Our topics have been chosen to give the children the knowledge and skills to understand and negotiate their own world, and to start to explore the wider world beyond their own experience.


In each of our topics our dedicated team of Early Years professionals creates engaging and stimulating opportunities for the children to learn across all seven areas of learning in the Government EYFS framework:


Prime Area of LearningStrands of learning within each area of development
Communication and language

Listening, attention and understanding


Personal, social and emotional development (PSED)


Managing self

Building relationships

Physical development

Gross motor skills

Fine motor skills



Word reading




Numerical patterns

Understanding the world

Past and present

People, culture and communities

The natural world

Expressive arts and design

Creating with materials

Being imaginative and expressive


Within each of these areas of development the Government has defined the Early Learning Goals (ELGs). Teachers assess these for each child at the end of Reception. Details of the ELGs are in the document below.

EYFS framework summary

We've had 8 9 6 9 9 visitors